The purpose of the Association of Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Branches of the Caribbean, the Americas and the Atlantic Region (CPA CAA) is to provide a forum to promote the aims and objectives and implement the activities of CPA CAA and the Branches in the Region. 


 Aims and Objectives:

The aims and objectives of the Association are to promote knowledge of the respective Constitutions, as well as the legislative, economic, social and cultural aspects of parliamentary democracy, with particular reference to the Commonwealth countries in the Region.


Constitution of the CPA-CAA 






                                                                                Dr. the Hon. Kendal Major, MP

                                                                                     Speaker of the House


                                                                               Chairman of the CPA-CAA

                                                                            Executive Committee 2015-2016





                                    Hon. F.R.O. Brand, MP                                                         Hon. Ingrid Moses-Scatliffe, MLA                 

                                    Speaker of the House &                                                            Speaker of the House &                                  

                                        Vice Chairperson                                                               Immediate Past Chairperson                                                                                     Resigned April 2016                                                              British Virgin Islands                                                                                         St. Christopher & Nevis                                                                                                






                                  Hon. Michael Peart, MP                                                          Hon. Pearnel Charles, MP 

                                  Speaker of the House                                                                Speaker of the House

                                             Member                                                                               (w.e.f March 2016)

                              (Retired w.e.f March 2016)                                                                     Jamaica





                                                                  Regional Executive Committee Members,

                                     the CPA-CAA Executive Committee & Regional Secretary 





   Hon. K.H. Randolph Horton, MP, JP            Hon. Michael Peyrefitte, MP             Hon. Juliana O’Connor  Connolly, MLA

           Speaker of the House                                 Speaker of the House                          Speaker  of the House of                     

                   of Assembly                                                      Belize                                                      Assembly

                    Bermuda                                                                                                                     Cayman Islands






          Hon. Michael Pierre, MP                      Hon. Shirley M. Osborne, MLA         Hon. Bridgid Annisette-George, MP

          Speaker of the House of                        Speaker of the Legislative                     Speaker of the House of

                Representatives                                             Assembly                                          Representatives

                    Grenada                                                     Montserrat                                      Trinidad & Tobago





                                                                                        Regional Secretary 



                                                                                  Mrs. Heather E. Cooke, JP

                                                                            Clerk to the Houses of Parliament 





The Secretariat liaises closely with all branches, disseminates key information and undertakes all duties and responsibilities assigned to it by the Executive Committee and/or the Annual General Meeting.


The CPA-CAA Regional Secretariat is situated in the country of the Regional Secretary/Treasurer (currently Jamaica). 


The Secretariat of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association of the Caribbean, the Americas and the Atlantic Region was revived in 1988 and since then has had six (6) Clerks serving in this capacity.


-  Mr. Curtis Strachan of Grenada served from 1988 to1991 who retired in that year having served in the Public

   Service of  Grenada for over thirty (30) years. He is now deceased.

-  Mr. George Brancker of Barbados, voluntarily succeeded Sir Curtis Strachan after his retirement. He is now


-  Mr. Maurice Tynes of The Bahamas served from 1998 to 2000.

-  Ms. Ruth Blackman of the Turks and Caicos Islands served from 2000 to 2006.

-  Ms. Jacqui Sampson Meiguel of Trinidad and Tobago served from 2006 to 2012.

-  Mrs. Heather Cooke, current Regional Secretary; 2012 - Present.  



 About CPA-CAA: CommonWealth Women Parliamentarians Regional Committee        




                   Hon. Shirley M. Obsorne, MLA                                                          Hon. Ingrid Moses-Scatliffe, MLA        

                Speaker of the Legislative Assembly                                                         Speaker of the House  

                                    Montserrat                                                                                  British Virgin Islands 








           Hon. Joanne Massiah, MP                               Ms. Susan Jackson, MP, JP                 Hon. Glenys Hanna Martin, MP 

                Antigua & Barbuda                                               Bermuda                                                       Bahamas 




                                                                                                St. Kitts & Nevis