Contact Information

Address: Old Government Buildings, Laborie Street, Castries
Phone: (+1 758)4536650/ 4683919/ 4523856
Fax: (+1 758)4525451




St. Lucia was a British Crown Colony in 1814 and by 1838 was incorporated into the British Windward Islands administration.
In 1924 the constitution gave the island its first form of Representative Government, with a small number of elected members in what was once an all nominated legislative council. Universal adult suffrage was introduced in 1951 making elected members the majority of the council. 
Ministerial government was effective in 1956, and in 1958 St. Lucia became a part of the West Indies Federation. Between 1967 and 1979 St. Lucia was a part of the Associate Statehood taking full responsibility for its internal government, with the UK overseeing the island’s external affairs and defense.
Associate Statehood ended in 1979 when St. Lucia achieved full Independence. 
St. Lucia is a Constitutional Monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as the head of state. The parliament is made up of the Queen, a Senate and a House of Assembly. The Prime Minister is the Head of Government while the Governor General is the Head of State. The House of Assembly consists of the number of members that correspond to the number of constituencies at the time being established.

The Parliament of St. Lucia is bicameral having two chambers. The Senate has 11 members; six are nominated by the government, three by the opposition and two by the Governor General. The House of Assembly has 17 directly elected Members and one Speaker. 

Branch Profile

Seat of Parliament: Castries
Date of First Parliament: January 1, 1967
Population: 160,145 (July 2002)
Constitution: Constitutional Monarchy 
CPA Branch Formed: 1946 
Political Party Distribution

St. Lucia Labour Party 11 Seats
United Workers Party 06 Seats
Date of Last Election: November 28, 2011

Officers of the Branch

Sen. the Hon. Claudius James Francis 
CPA Office: Branch Joint President 
Parliamentary Office: President of the Senate 
Hon. Peter Foster QC, MP 
CPA Office: Branch Joint President 
Parliamentary Office: Speaker of the House of Assembly 
Hon. Dr. Kenny Davis Anthony MP 
CPA Office: Branch Vice-President 
Parliamentary Office: Prime Minister 
Hon. Stephenson King, MP 
CPA Office: Branch Vice-President 
Parliamentary Office: Leader of the Opposition 
Mr. Kurt Thomas 
CPA Office: Branch Secretary 
Parliamentary Office: Clerk of Parliament




Hon. Dr. Kenny D. AnthonyMP

Member for Vieux Fort South
Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Economic Affairs, Planning and Social Security


Hon. Phillip J. Pierre, MP                                                    

Member for Castries East

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Port Services and Transport


Hon. Alva R. Baptiste

Member for Laborie

Minister for External Affairs, International Trade and Civil Aviation


Hon. Harold N. DalsonMP

Member for Soufriere

Minister for Social Transformation, Local Government and Community Empowerment


Hon. Moses Jn BaptisteMP

Member for Vieux Fort North

Minister for Agriculture, Food Production, Fisheries and Rural Development


Hon. Dr. Robert LewisMP

Member for Castries South

Minister for Education, Human Resource Development and Labour


Hon. Emma Hippolyte, MP

Member for Gros Islet

Minister for Commerce, Business Development, Investment and Consumer Affairs


Hon. Shawn Edward, MP                             

Member for Dennery North

Minister for Youth Development and Sports


Hon. Alvina ReynoldsMP                          

Member for Babonneau

Minister for Health, Wellness, Human Services and Gender Relations


Hon. Lorne D.C. Theophilus, MP              

Member for Choiseul

Minister for Tourism, Heritage and Creative Industries 

Hon. Dr. Desmond Long,MP        

Member for Anse La Raye/Canaries

Deputy Speaker



Hon. Stephenson King, MP        

Member for Castries North

Leader of the Opposition                                                                                            


Hon. Richard FrederickMP                                                       

Member for Castries Central


Hon. Arsene James, MP

Member for Micoud South


Hon. Guy Joseph, MP                                   

Member for Castries South East


Hon. Edmund Estephane, MP

Member for Dennery South


Hon. Dr. Gale Rigobert, MP

Member for Micoud North




Senator the Hon. Victor Philip LaCorbiniere      

Minister for Legal Affairs, Home Affairs and National Security


Senator the Hon. Dr. James Fletcher                     

Minister for Public Service, Sustainable Development, Energy,

Science and Technology


Senator the Hon. Stanley Felix                 

Minister for Physical Development, Housing and Urban Renewal


Senator the Hon. Dr. Ubaldus Raymond

Parliamentary Secretary                                              

Minister for Commerce, Business Development, Investment and Consumer Affairs


Senator Debra Cynthia Tobierre




Senator Lenard Montoute

Senator Ezechiel Joseph
Senator Andie Daniel




Senator Berthia Monica Parle, MBE

Deputy President of the Senate


Senator Dr. Stephen King, OBE